January Review and February Goals

In order to keep myself focused and remember what I am working towards I will set monthly goals for myself and in that context review the goals from the previous months. It is all about breaking it down into smaller steps and doing something for 30 days sounds a lot more doable than 365.

Review of January Goals

Lifestyle

  • continue avoid drinking coffee
    • Check.I stuck to tea as a hot beverage
  • when not drinking alcohol, only order water at restaurants 
    • I mostly stuck to this goal, occasionally I would get hot green tea or an unsweetened Iced Tea but overall I feel I accomplished it since I stayed away from juices and sodas
  • track all I am eating in my WW app
    • Check.
  • do not get take out food when in Chicago, cook
    • Check. 
  • declutter my suitcase
    • Check.
  • 1st round of decluttering at home
    • Check. 
  • cancel Ipsy subscription
    • Check.
  • stick to shopping ban
    • Check. I purchased some things from my approved purchases list and had to replace one pair of workout pants and two tights.

Career

  • utilize the two weeks I am home to focus on my Designation and complete the total of 16h (4h per week)
    • I did not reach this goal and am very disappointed because I had the time and just didn’t do it.
  • prepare for my salary negotiations
    • I had the talk with my boss and he is currently in discussions with his boss, but overall I am looking at a 10-15% raise which I am happy about.

Finances

  • put the planned amount into the emergeny savings account
    • Unfortunately this did not happen. I am still working towards alleviating my credit card debts from the last couple of week in 2016 and all the travel I booked, but I am getting there.
  • pay back all balances from the previous statement on my credit cards
    • All balances were paid off and hopefully I will finally get on track with my budget soon. 
  • track my spending
    • Check. 
  • do a weekly grocery shopping to ensure I stay on Budget
    • I did not do that but rather go multiple times a week. I need to be better about it and once I am home more regularly in March I will start going to Aldi’s t make sure I stay within my budget. 
  • move remaining money from salary into savings accounts
    • I put the money towards credit card payments.

Travel

  • book all hotels/ AirBnB places for Patagonia so that the only upcoming expense will be the expenses when there
    • Check.

February Goals

I February I will be out of the country the whole month, working on my project site for 2.5 weeks and once I wrapped this up go to my home town and work from there for two weeks staying with my parents.

Lifestyle

  • continue avoid drinking coffee
  • when not drinking alcohol, only order water at restaurants
  • track all I am eating in my WW app
  • stick to shopping ban

Career

  •  focus on my Designation while in my home office time

Finances

  • put the planned amount into the emergeny savings account as well as the money from my tax return
  • pay back all balances from the previous statement on my credit cards
  • track my spending
  • move remaining money from salary into savings accounts

Travel

  • Plan my upcoming trip to Iceland
Leave a Reply

